Having your car vandalized can undoubtedly cause a very big problem. Vandalism can come in many forms, including broken windows and mirrors, busted lights, graffiti or keyed in scratches, and slashed tired. It’s important to know that necessary steps to take in order to mitigate the issues caused by someone else’s intentional damage to your property. However, filing a car insurance claim for vandalism can be quite tedious. Keep in mind the following tips to ensure that the process can be as convenient for you as possible.
First, contact the police upon seeing your car vandalized. Most car insurance companies will require that a police report go with the claim you file. The earlier you report to officials, the sooner you can get the necessary documents to pursue your car insurance claim. If you see any damage to your car, call a police officer immediately and report the incident without hesitation. In some cases, your prompt reporting can also help police officers catch the perpetrator sooner.
Another important tip to keep in mind is to document the damage done to your vehicle. Take pictures of how your car was vandalized so you can submit them alongside your car insurance claim. If you have fairly recent pictures of your car before the vandalism incident, you can also include that to provide your insurance provider with a point of reference.
Finally, do not forget to contact your insurance company as soon as you’re done reporting the vandalism to the police. With a comprehensive coverage, you can rest assured that your vehicle’s repairs will be properly covered without any issue. To officially file your claim, you will need to provide your insurance provider with pertinent information. This may include details such as where your vehicle was located before and after the vandalism and a full description of your vehicle’s model, upgrades, and even recent repairs.
Marijuana is considered illegal in the state of Texas (Texas Stat. and Code Ann. § 481.002.) and is identified as a schedule 1 substance, having a high possibility of abuse and is regarded as having no recognizable medical use. As such, it is considered to be a crime to drive under the influence of marijuana, and penalties dictated by DUI violations would apply to those caught driving under the influence of marijuana, although charges of marijuana possession against the driver or passengers still apply.
According to the Texas Stat. and Code Ann. § 49.01., if a person is caught driving under the influence of marijuana on any amount (as determine through blood or urine samples), it will be enough to establish that the crime has been committed. The penalties can depend on the whether the charge is the first offense or a repeat, and the penalties increase when there is a minor inside the vehicle (Texas Stat. and Code Ann. § 49.04.).
For first convictions, penalties involve fines reaching $2,000, imprisonment of between 72 hours and 180 days, or both. It also includes community service of between 24 and 100 hours, and up to a year of suspension of driver’s license. Penalties for second convictions include fines of up to $4,000 and between 72 hours and 180 days of jail time, or both; with between 80 and 200 hours of community service and license suspension of up to 180 days to 2 years. For third and ensuing convictions, the fine can reach up to $10,000 with between 2 and 10 years of imprisonment, or both; community service of between 160 and 600 hours and license suspension of between 180 days and 2 years.
Being charged and convicted with marijuana-related DUI can be hard as it can affect the various areas of your life. Being charge would mean you need to find good Dallas criminal defense lawyers to help lessen or lower your penalties. Because state laws vary, especially when it comes to DUI charges, it helps to find a criminal defenses lawyer who understands how these court proceedings are handled in your state by prosecutors and judges.
Child custody is a decision pronounced by a court as to who between the divorcing or separating parents ought to have control and responsibility over the child (who is below 18 years old). Before the 1800s, due to matters that concerned property law and inheritance, child custody was automatically awarded to the father. Courts reconsidered their position on this matter, however, and concluded that custody ought to be given to mothers since they can take care of their children definitely better than fathers.
This maternal preference of courts, which was called the Tender Years Doctrine, gave mothers exclusive custodial rights over young children during divorce, and this went on until the 1990s, until it was deemed unconstitutional in 45 states. The gender-neutral custody law finally replaced both practices.
Though states may differ in the factors considered when deciding who ought to have child custody, one rule is observed by all – that the decision should be made in consideration of the best interest of the child. Due to this, if the court sees fit, custody may even be awarded to both parents, to make sure that the child never loses communication and is never deprived of the love and time of both parents.
There are cases when one parent is deemed unfit by the court, so that allowing the child to spend time with him/her would only cause greater harm than good to the child. In this instance, it would be obvious that such parent will be denied custody of his/her child.
Being deemed unfit by the court can be due to various reasons, including alcohol/drug abuse/dependence, child abuse, failure to provide the child’s basic needs, causing the child to experience physical and/or mental danger, abandoning the child, and being charged with a crime in Denton.
Some hold the belief that those charged with a crime does not automatically make them bad or unfit fathers. Just like the fact that robbers are not outright liars. To prove this, though, and to convince the court of it, one should have convincing proof and a really good family law lawyer who understands his/her situation and is determined to fight for his/her case in court.